

30 October 2017

No 2 of 2017 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Update of process for recruitment and selection and appointment of CoP and Deputies

The Police Service Commission thanks the public for its genuine interest in the Executive Recruitment and Selection Process for the positions of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Police. The Commission is acutely aware of the importance of this exercise to the safety and security of the country and wants to assure all citizens that the process is thorough, rigorous, aligned with our laws, and seeks to ensure that the best suited candidates are selected.

"We have already completed the initial screening of applicants and psychometric testing of candidates. Further assessments are ongoing and scheduled to continue in the month of November. The entire process is expected to be completed in December. Once done, we will establish and submit to the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, an Order of Merit List with the names of the highest graded candidates for each position," said Dr Maria Gomes, Chairman, Police Service Commission.

The Police Service Commission remains committed to the serving the nation's interests and will maintain the highest levels of professionalism and integrity throughout the process. The Commission will ensure that the confidentiality of all candidates and key stakeholders is also maintained.

About the Police Service Commission:

The Police Service Commission was established under Section 123 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. The Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2006 (Act No. 6 of 2006) repealed Section 123 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and established a new Police Service Commission with the power to appoint, promote, confirm, discipline and remove the Commissioner of Police and the Deputy Commissioners of Police and additionally, to monitor the efficiency and effectiveness of the discharge of their functions, prepare performance appraisal reports and hear and determine appeals of decisions of the Commissioner of Police with respect to promotion and disciplinary proceedings.

The members of the Police Service Commission are Chairman, Dr. Maria Gomes; Mr. Martin George; Mr Dinanath Ramkissoon and Commodore (Retired) Anthony Franklin.

PUBLIC EDUCATION UNIT Corner Churchill Roosevelt Highway and Pasea Road, Tunapuna Office: (868) 612-0062 ext 2323 | Fax: (868) 663-0741 | Mobile: (868) 688-2068 | Email: <u>harper-waltersr@gov.tt</u>