

6 August 2018

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

# Police Service Commission appoints Commissioner of Police

The Police Service Commission of Trinidad and Tobago today announced the appointment of Mr. Gary Griffith as the new Commissioner of Police of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

The appointment of Mr. Griffith is in keeping with the Police Service Commission's mandate to appoint persons to hold or act in the office of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Police.

As Commissioner of Police, Mr. Griffith will be responsible for directing all strategic activities of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service to promote and achieve higher levels of safety and security for the nation.

Finalization of the terms and conditions of Mr. Griffith's contract resides with the Ministry of National Security.

# Photograph attached.

#### Caption:

Mr. Gary Griffith receives his letter of appointment on Friday 3 August 2018, as the new Commissioner of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service from Ms. Bliss Seepersad, Chairman of the Police Service Commission

###

### About the Police Service Commission:

The Police Service Commission was established under Section 123 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. The Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2006 (Act No. 6 of 2006) repealed Section 123 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and established a new Police Service Commission with the power to appoint, promote, confirm, discipline and remove the Commissioner of Police and the Deputy Commissioners of Police and additionally, to monitor the efficiency and effectiveness of the discharge of their functions, prepare performance appraisal reports and hear and determine appeals of decisions of the Commissioner of Police with respect to promotion and disciplinary proceedings.

The members of the Police Service Commission are Chairman, Ms. Bliss Seepersad; Mr. Martin George; Mr Dinanath Ramkissoon, Commodore (Retired) Anthony Franklin and Dr. Susan Craig-James.

PUBLIC EDUCATION UNIT Corner Churchill Roosevelt Highway and Pasea Road, Tunapuna Office: (868) 612-0062 ext 2323 | Fax: (868) 663-0741 | Mobile: (868) 688-2068 | Email: <u>harper-waltersr@gov.tt</u>

